OPINION 122

Seven Generic Names in *PRIMATES* Adopted in the Official List of Generic Names

SUMMARY.—The following generic names in Primates are hereby placed in the Official List of Generic Names, with type species as cited: Colobus (polycomos), Galago (galago), Gorilla (gorilla), Hylobates (lar), Lemur (catta), Pithecia (pithecia), Tarsius (spectrum).

STATEMENT OF CASE.—Commissioner Apstein has proposed the following seven generic names of Primates as nomina conservanda:

- Colobus Illiger, 1811, Prodromus Syst. Mamm. et Avium, p. 69, tsd. polycomos Schreber, type locality West Africa.
- Galago Geoffr., 1796, Mag. Encycl., vol. 2, no. I, p. 49, 1 pl., tat. senegalensis Geoffr. = galago Schreber, type locality Senegal.
- 3. Gorilla Geoffr., 1852, C. r. Acad. Sci., Paris, vol. 34, p. 84, tat. gorilla Savage, 1847, type locality Gaboon River, West Africa.
- 4. Hylobates Illiger, 1811, Prodromus Syst. Mamm. et Avium, p. 67, mt. Homo lar Linn., 1771, type locality Malay Peninsula.
- Lemur Linn., 1758a, Syst. Nat., vol. I, p. 29, type catta Linn., 1758a, 30, type locality Madagascar.
- 6. Pithecia Desm., 1804, Nouv. Dict. Hist. nat., vol. V, p. 24, Tab. méth. Mamm., 8, tat. Simia pithecia Linn., 1766, type locality Guiana.
- 7. Tarsius Storr, 1780, Prodromus Meth. Mannin., pp. 33, 34, Tab. A, mt. spectrum Pallas, 1778, so. tat. tarsier Erxl., 1777, = tarsius, type locality East Indies.

DISCUSSION.—These names have been compared with the various nomenclators, with a considerable portion of the special literature on Primates, and with the original place of publication. In addition, they have been submitted to Dr. Gerrit S. Miller, Jr., of the United States National Museum, who considers them valid under the Rules. The Secretary has studied them and concurs in Doctor Miller's opinion.

In view of the foregoing premises, the Secretary recommends the adoption of these names in the Official List of Generic Names.

Opinion prepared by Stiles.

Opinion concurred in by twelve (12) Commissioners: Apstein, Bather, Chapman, Dabbene, Handlirsch, Horvath, Ishikawa, Jordan (K.), Silvestri, Stiles, Stone, Warren.

Opinion dissented from by no Commissioner.

Not voting, six (6) Commissioners: Hartert, Jordan (D. S.), Kolbe, Loennberg, Neveu-Lemaire, Stejneger.